Homemade Croutons


I am on a salad and soup kick, I can’t help it – this cold rainy weather makes me want soup. What goes great with soup and salad? Homemade croutons! I have never made homemade croutons, but I love them. A restaurant I used to go to in Bloomington, IN had homemade croutons and they were just scrumptious. I was inspired, okay determined not to let 2 loaves of homemade bread go to waste when I realized they just didn’t taste very good. You could also do this with bread that tastes just fine too 😉 With the 2 loaves of bread I had about 11 cups of bread chunks. This is a recipe that you could alter easily: if you have less bread – use less oil, you just want the bread to be coated in olive oil not drenched. Want to use different spices – go right ahead you could use red pepper flakes and make them spicy or add oregano and basil. Be inventive and inspired! These are best day of, I stored mine in the cupboard in a plastic bag and they were not as good 2-3 days later.

Ingredients
11 cups bread, cubed into about 1-inch squares
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon onion powder
2 teaspoons course salt

Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 400F
2. Toss bread with olive oil, to coat in a large bowl.
3. Add garlic powder, onion powder, and salt to coat bread.
4. Spread coated bread cubes on a pan in a single layer
5. Bake for about 30 minutes or until desired crispness.

Serve with salad (try this Caesar dressing) or Chicken and Orzo Soup.

Mangia!
Lindsay Lou

Source: Lindsay Lou original

Leave a Reply

