Papa’s Cheesy Grits with Bacon


I acquired my love of grits from my Papa. He would make me cheesy grits when I would come over to see him and my Nanny. It was a simple meal but it was made with love. I am not sure what made me hungry for grits the other day but it made me think of my Papa. Never had grits? Grits is ground up corn popular in the South and served for breakfast. Grits can (usually) be found in the cereal aisle near oatmeal. We had this dish for dinner but you could use it as a side or serve it for breakfast. Follow the recipe on your package of grits to make 4 servings.

Ingredients:
Grits and water to make 4 servings (refer to your package of grits for amounts).
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 cup chopped green onions
2 tablespoons whipping cream
1 tablespoon butter
8 pieces bacon, cooked and chopped
Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:
1. Cook grits according to the package (when I add my grits to the boiling water, I like to whisk them in to make sure there are no clumps). As grits are starting to thicken, add whipping cream and butter, stir.
2. Add cheese, onions, and bacon, stir.
3. Season with salt and pepper, serve warm.

Makes 4 servings.

Mangia!
Lindsay Lou

Source: Lindsay Lou original inspired by Papa

Leave a Reply

