Mashed Cauliflower


Second day of side dishes in honor of Thanksgiving (See below for more side suggestions). When I was first presented with this side dish long ago, I was told you could substitute this for mashed potatoes. Look, mashed potatoes are a staple on our holiday table and there are rarely leftovers so I would never hear of a mashed potato substitution (I mean that is just crazy). Plus, I wasn’t wild about the mashed cauliflower I had tried. I decided to try it again this weekend, just to get some more vegetable variations on our menu. I initially tried to “mash” the cauliflower using my stand mixer paddle attachment but this was not successful. I was unimpressed, I didn’t like the texture and the taste was blah as I didn’t add a lot of seasoning. I decided to try again using my food processor to puree the cauliflower also adding fresh chives and sour cream to achieve the creaminess of mashed potatoes. Although, I was still skeptical about calling this a substitute for mashed potatoes. With these changes though, I have to say the pureed cauliflower is so similar to mashed potatoes I don’t know that I would miss the mashed potatoes at a meal. Wait, did I just say I wouldn’t miss mashed potatoes? My family reading this just gasped, my mom is probably laughing not believing I would ever say that as I would arm wrestle my stepdad for the last spoonful of her mashed potatoes. I too can’t believe that I just said this as I have a love for mashed potatoes but these are a nice change (that is if you are looking for one or just another way to get more vegetables on your menu). Maybe you could make both and see what your family likes best at Thanksgiving.

Tip: Don’t have a food processor? Use a blender (Just use with caution as the heat will build up and the top will might have a tendency to come off. You can put a towel over the lid and hold it down. If the cauliflower is not moving around in the blender you can add a bit of milk – just not too much).

Serves: 4

Ingredients
1 head of cauliflower, chopped and rinsed
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 sour cream (I used light sour cream)
1 tablespoon chopped fresh chives
1 teaspoon course sea salt

Directions
1. Boil cauliflower until very soft (a fork should easily pierce the cauliflower), drain.
2. Puree cauliflower in a food processor or blender (Note: You may have to do this in batches in order to get the cauliflower pureed. I had to do this in 3 batches).
3. With a whisk or whisk attachment on a stand mixer or hand held mixer whisk in sour cream and minced garlic.
4. Stir in salt and chives.

Serve Warm

Other side dishes on Hoosier Baker:
Roasted Asparagus
Roasted Sesame Green Beans (you could always switch out the sesame oil for olive oil and omit sesame seeds if sesame doesn’t go with your menu).
Tomato Cucumber Salad
Roasted Carrots with Honey and Cumin
Cinnamon Applesauce (add a dash of nutmeg for something special)
Mangia!
Lindsay Lou

2 thoughts on “Mashed Cauliflower

Leave a Reply

