Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting


I know this post is a bit late but I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving with lots of yummy food. We were traveling so I thought a perfect dessert would be whoopie pies. A friend has been talking about making pumpkin whoopie pies, which she brought in to share and I was unfortunately sick that day. What is a whoopie pie? I didn’t know either until I moved to Maryland and actually went to Pennsylvania Dutch Country and had 3 (I shared these 3 and in our defense we couldn’t decide among the pumpkin, chocolate, and red velvet whoopie pies). A whoopie pie (also known as a “gob”) is basically a cookie-cake sandwich with frosting in the middle (I mean, does it get any better?) The cookie is very soft, like cake so it is like a portable piece of cake. As I was searching for pumpkin whoopie pie recipes I started to realize the cookie part was very similar to my favorite pumpkin cookie we used to make at the bakery I worked in. I decided to use that recipe with a some adaptations to the spices. I noticed on a recipe or two that some had added maple syrup to the frosting and I thought that would be a nice addition with cinnamon to the cream cheese frosting. These would be a nice addition to a cookie tray (you can make them smaller).

I used a disposable frosting bag with a tip (Wilton #12) to pipe the cookie dough on parchment paper to ensure even circles but you could use a sandwich bag with the tip cut-off, which I did to pipe on the frosting (see picture below).

I used my stand mixer but you could certainly mix the ingredients by hand.

Ingredients for cookies:
1 cup sugar
1 cup shortening
1 cup pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling just pumpkin)
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground ginger

Ingredients for Frosting:
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, softened
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon table salt
3 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted

Directions for cookies:
1.Preheat oven to 350F
2. Cream the sugar and shortening.
3. Add the pumpkin, egg, and vanilla, mix well.
4. Sift the flour, soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ground cloves, ground ginger, and ground nutmeg.
5. Add flour mixture to pumpkin mixture and mix.
6. Lay parchment paper down on cookie sheets, then using a frosting bag or plastic bag pipe cookies onto parchment paper in a circle (see picture below). You could use 2 spoons but the piping will help you to have nice even cookies.
7. Using a knife or an icing knife (frosting spreader) smooth the cookies out.
8. Bake in 350F for 12-15 minutes (these cookies will not get very dark so don’t overcook). I like to turn the cookie sheets and also swap the cookie sheets from the bottom to top rack half-way through baking.
9. Remove from oven and let cool on cookie sheets for 5 minutes then transfer to cooling rack.
10. I try to match my cookies up by size, then flip one cookie over so bottom is facing up. Pipe frosting (see directions below) the cookie, then gently press another cookie on top (bottom of this cookie facing the frosting). In this picture you can see this is the plastic sandwich bag I used – just cut the tip off to pipe frosting on. See next picture with tip of the bag cut off.
11. Store in the refrigerator.

Directions for Frosting:
1. Cream butter and cream cheese until mixed then whip for about 1 minute.
2. Mix in the vanilla, cinnamon, salt, and maple syrup.
3. Gradually add the powdered sugar.
4. Refrigerate for about 2 hours prior to icing the whoopie pies. (see above for instructions on frosting/assembling the whoopie pies).

Mangia!
Lindsay Lou

Source: Cookies adapted from Baker’s Peak Pumpkin Cookies
Frosting: Adapted from Aunt Cathy’s Red Velvet Cake Frosting

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. I have had chocolate whoopie pies but never pumpkin,I love Pumpkin anything! I didn't know you had worked at Baker's Peak. They have the most awesome bakery ever! I can understand your passion for baking from working there!

  2. I love pumpkin goodies – one of my favorite things about fall 😉 I worked at Baker's Peak back in high school (what a great high school job!) when it was in its original location (just a few doors down) and a different owner. I worked with amazing women and had a blast!

Leave a Reply

