Cranberry-Apple Pancake


Do you have a go-to special weekend breakfast or one you make especially for company? If you need one, look no further and if you have one you can add this to your repertoire. A co-worker from a previous job gave me this recipe for the apple pancake, which was adapted from her mother-in-law (if my memory is correct ;). Her recipe was with apples, cinnamon, and raisins soaked in orange juice; which is how I generally make this but I decided it needed a makeover for the holidays. When I saw the big bag of cranberries at the grocery store I knew they would find a way in this revamped recipe. I usually add vanilla extract to the pancake, which was not part of the original recipe but I decided to use a vanilla bean this time since I had some in my pantry. You can find vanilla beans in the spice aisle but they can be pricey. I made my own vanilla extract this year so I decided to buy the vanilla beans in bulk from Penzeys Spice as it was more cost effective than buying them at the store for me. After you have scraped the inside (seeds) of the vanilla bean you can stick the bean in your sugar to make vanilla sugar (just continue to add sugar) or add it to a jar of salt (to use in your baking). If you don’t feel like spending the extra money on vanilla beans just substitute vanilla extract.

Ingredients for apple-cranberry compote:
1 cup fresh cranberries, rinsed
3 medium granny smith apples, sliced (you could substitute pears for the apples)
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons butter

Ingredients for pancake:
1/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
3 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup skim milk
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 vanilla bean*, split in half then scrape both sides with a knife to get the beans. Save the rest of the bean and stick in some sugar for vanilla sugar or in salt for vanilla salt.
*You could substitute 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

For garnish (Optional):
1 cranberry
1 apple, sliced
lemon juice
*If you use the apples for garnish, make sure to dip or brush apples with lemon juice so they do not brown (I didn’t do this and they browned very quickly)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 375F
2. Mix sliced apples, cranberries and 1/4 cup sugar in a bowl. Toss to coat.
3. In an oven-safe skillet melt the butter, add apple mixture.
4. Cook apple mixture until apples are tender, about 10 minutes. Using a spatula, smooth mixture so it is even.
5. Mix sugar, flour, salt, and vanilla beans. This helps to make sure the vanilla doesn’t stay clumped together.
6. Mix in the eggs and skim milk. Whisk mixture until clumps are gone.
7. Pour batter over cranberry-apple mixture and bake at 375F for 20-30 minutes, until it is firm. If you use the vanilla bean you will see black specks in the batter, don’t panic this is just the vanilla beans.

Serve warm, at room temperature or cold (it is very versatile but I prefer warm). I flipped the pancake over (carefully, loosening the sides with a spatula and shaking it gently to ensure limited sticking) onto a the cake stand but you could just serve straight from the pan which is what I often do. Just make sure to wrap something around the handle so everyone knows it is hot and doesn’t burn themselves (I speak from experience).

Mangia!
Lindsay Lou

Source: Adapted from a previous co-worker’s (Amy) mother-in-law

Leave a Reply

