Orange Marmalade Chicken

I bought a ton of orange marmalade when it was on sale at the store even though I don’t think I have ever consumed orange marmalade or had the desire to.  I thought it would be good to bake or cook with so why not.  As I have been cleaning out/organizing our kitchen and pantry I come across things like the orange marmalade that I bought thinking I would use but forgot I had (hence new organization for the new year).  When you have 5+ jars of orange marmalade and you don’t eat it this brings up a dilemma; well 2 dilemmas: 1) (obviously) I am an impulse buyer and 2) I need to come up with recipes to use this orange marmalade.  I have addressed the second dilemma and will be working on the first 😉  I have served this over plain couscous and over Cranberry-Pistachio couscous (which was terrific!)  Don’t be scared off by this recipe thinking it will be too sweet, I think the wine does a good job balancing the sweetness (just make sure to use a dry white not a sweet white).  This is a very quick dinner, perfect for a weeknight meal.  You can prepare the couscous and a vegetable while the chicken is cooking.

Ingredients
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 cup orange marmalade
1/2 cup + 1/4 cup dry white wine (I used chardonnay)
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon white pepper
Olive oil spray or cooking spray


Directions
1.  Preheat oven to 450F
2.  Spray 9×13 glass pan with olive oil or cooking spray.
3.  Sprinkle salt on both sides of chicken and place in glass pan.
4.  Mix marmalade, 1/2 cup of wine, salt, and pepper; set aside 1/2 cup of the mixture for later.  Pour the mixture over the chicken, turning each chicken breast over to coat both sides.  Cover pan with aluminum foil.
5.  Bake at 450F for 20 minutes or until chicken is done.
6.  Right before serving chicken, mix the 1/2 cup of marmalade mixture with 1/4 cup of wine in saucepan.
7.  Bring marmalade mixture to a boil over medium heat, stirring frequently.  Boil for 2 minutes.
8.  Pour sauce over chicken, serve.

Mangia!
Lindsay Lou

Source: Lindsay Lou Original

Leave a Reply

