Curried Lentil Soup

Raise your hand if you love lentils….okay I can’t see you but I know there are some hands up in the air 😉  I have been on a re-organizing kick in our kitchen and part of that was cleaning out the cabinets.  I can never see what is in the back of the cabinets thus leading to the decision to reorganize so precious ingredients wouldn’t be lost – like my lentils.  As I was cleaning out one of the cabinets I came across lentils that I had no idea I had.  I immediately thought curried lentil soup, though I don’t think I have ever had it in my life. It was yummy and I have made it many times since but had yet to post it on the blog. You may want to add more salt at the end, it depends on what stock you use (if it has salt) or if you use broth (usually has salt). Be very careful with the curry – it will stain your clothing (I speak form experience).

Ingredients
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons curry
1 teaspoon kosher salt
2 carrots, peeled and diced
3 stalks of celery, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 small onion, diced
2 cups lentils
32 ounces (4 cups) vegetable stock
2 cups water

1.  Rinse lentils in water, drain and pick out any debris or shriveled lentils. 
2. Heat oil in a stock pot over medium heat, add onion, garlic, carrots, salt, and celery, cover with a lid.  Cook 5 minutes then add curry, covering with a lid again.  Cook until tender, about 20 minutes.
3.  Add lentils, stock, and water.  Cover with a lid and bring to a boil
4.   Turn down heat to low and simmer for an hour or until lentils are tender.
5.  Optional:  Puree 2 cups of soup in a blender (carefully) and add back to the soup. You could also use an immersion blender in the entire soup.  This will make the soup a little creamy but is totally optional. 

Mangia!
Lindsay Lou

Source: Lindsay Lou

Leave a Reply

