Peanut Butter Cookie Truffles

 

When your niece is a Girl Scout and your sister is a Girl Scout leader you feel “obligated” to help them get rid of the cases and cases of Girl Scout cookies that have taken over their house (at least that is what I tell myself after losing track of how many boxes of cookies I have eaten).  Also, I feel like supporting the Girl Scouts, since I was one many years ago and it was a great experience.  What better way to support them than to eat cookies….right?  I thought I would post one more time about Girl Scout cookies this week, just in case you have some extra Girl Scout cookies sitting around or decide after seeing this that you should go out and buy a box, or two, or maybe three from those nice Girl Scouts.  My last post on Girl Scout cookies was for a Thin Mint Milkshake, which I highly recommend and was very easy.  This recipe is adapted from the Oreo Truffles recipe (from Bakerella originally from Kraft Food) and I have been waiting since I first made the Oreo truffles to make them with peanut butter sandwich cookies.  These were fantastic and a huge hit at the Oscar Party I took them to. 

When I was a Girl Scout (ages ago) I think Do-Si-Dos® were called Savannahs – anyone else remember that?  

Peanut Butter Cookie Truffles
Printable Recipe

Ingredients
1 package of Girl Scout @font-face { font-family: “MS 明朝”;}@font-face { font-family: “MS 明朝”;}@font-face { font-family: “Cambria”;}p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: Cambria; }.MsoChpDefault { font-family: Cambria; }div.WordSection1 { page: WordSection1; }Do-Si-Dos®(Peanut Butter Sandwiches could also use other Peanut Butter Sandwich cookies)
Dark melting chocolate (I used dark cocoa candy melts – about 7 ounces – you can use chocolate chips and add a bit of shortening to thin it out)
5 ounces cream cheese, softened (I used neufchatel, which is the light cream cheese because I prefer the taste)
Optional
Mini chocolate chips
Vegetable Shortening
Bamboo skewers (you can find these usually at grocery stores)

Directions
1.  Crush cookies into a fine consistency (I use a food processor but you could use a rolling pin or heavy pan).
2.  Mix in cream cheese, I usually start off using a wooden spoon and end up using my hands to ensure the cream cheese is mixed in well.
3.  Roll the mixture into balls (about 1-inch in size) and place on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper.
4.  Freeze peanut butter balls for 15-30 minutes, you want them to be firm so you can stick a bamboo skewer in it and it won’t fall off the skewer while you are dipping it in the chocolate.
5.  Melt your chocolate according to the package – I prefer the double boiler method (you don’t need a special one just use a pot you have and a bowl that will sit up in the pot – see picture below).  Add shortening as needed to thin the chocolate.  I add just a little at a time
(about a 1/2 teaspoon) and sometimes add more after dipping the truffles if the chocolate seems to thick.

6.  I take the peanut butter balls out of the freezer two at a time so they stay firm.  I then insert a skewer in and dip it in the chocolate, using a spoon to drizzle chocolate where there are bare spots.
7.  Gently tap the skewer on the side of the bowl to get rid of any excess chocolate (is there really such a thing as excess chocolate? 🙂
8.  Place the truffle on the cookie sheet with the skewer upright, take another skewer and lay it across the truffle to hold it down while you slowly turn and pull the other skewer out (see below).

9.  Using one of the skewers or a spoon I add a little more chocolate to cover where the skewer was inserted.

10. Add chocolate chips to the top, or drizzle extra chocolate over them, or sea salt.
Keep in the refrigerator.

Mangia!
Lindsay Lou

Source: Slightly adapted from Oreo Truffles from Bakerella, originally from Kraft Food
* The Girl Scouts of the USA do not know who I am (okay maybe they have some record of me when I was a Girl Scout back in the day), pay me to endorse their product,  or give me free cookies. 

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookie Truffles

Leave a Reply

