Caramel Brownies

This post is dedicated to my official taste-tester, my loving  @font-face { font-family: “MS 明朝”;}@font-face { font-family: “MS 明朝”;}@font-face { font-family: “Cambria”;}p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: Cambria; }.MsoChpDefault { font-family: Cambria; }div.WordSection1 { page: WordSection1; }fiancé who likes to ask when I will be baking since this is a cooking AND baking blog 😉

Randomly, we receive a section of the Baltimore Sun and it is usually about food.  I actually get excited when I see the rolled up paper on our lawn as I know there will be some kind of yummy recipe inside.  When I saw this recipe I knew I needed to make it and as soon as possible.  I made these brownies to go with soup and bread I took to friends who are new mothers so they would have a couple nights off from worrying about dinner; which would give them more time to spend with their adorable new babies and husbands.  These brownies were amazing.  They were super simple to make and absolutely decadent.  The most time intensive part is to unwrap all the caramels.  I am not usually a cake mix kind of girl but I would highly recommend these and will be making these again.  Since I was taking them to friends I sprinkled pecans on half of the brownies, just in case someone didn’t like nuts. 

Caramel Brownies
Printer-Friendly Version
Makes 24 Brownies

Ingredients
1 (18.25 ounce) chocolate cake mix (I used Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge*)
12 tablespoons unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks), melted
2/3 cup evaporated milk, divided (1/3 and 1/3)
1 bag (14 ounce) caramels, unwrapped
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
Optional
1 cup chopped pecans

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350F
2. Grease a 9×13 inch pan (I used my glass one)
3.  Unwrap caramels and set aside
4. In a bowl mix the cake mix, butter, 1/3 cup of the evaporated milk (optional:  you could mix the nuts in at this step if you would like).
5.  Divide the dough and press 3/4 of it in the bottom of the 9×13 pan, set aside the rest of the dough.
6.  Bake the dough you have pressed in the pan for 6 minutes.  Melt caramels (see next step) while dough is in the oven.
7.  Melt the caramels and remaining 1/3 cup of evaporated milk over medium heat in a medium saucepan.  Make sure to stir frequently – this can burn easily!
8. Remove the pan of brownies from the oven, sprinkle chocolate chips evenly over the warm dough and pour the caramel mixture over the chips.  Using an offset spatula or regular spatula, spread the caramel.
9.  With the rest of the brownie dough, flatten small pieces and scatter across the top of the caramel.  You will not cover the entire dough so this will allow caramel to bubble up in between.
10.  If you haven’t added nuts to the dough, you can sprinkle nuts on the top or on half or none at all
11.  Bake brownies for 20 minutes, rotating pan half-way through baking time.  The brownies will look gooey but they will be done after 20 minutes.
12.  Let the pan cool on a wire rack then refrigerate for 1 hour before cutting.

Just thought I should include one more gooey picture to convince you to make these this weekend.

Mangia!
Lindsay Lou

Source:Ever so slightly adapted from The Baltimore Sun Recipe Finder Section submitted by Tzippie Mahr, originally from Mr. Food
*This is not a paid advertisement from Duncan Hines – I just saw this cake mix in the grocery store and I think I might have heard a chorus of angels sing so I bought it.

Leave a Reply

