Chocolate Oatmeal No-Bake Cookies

@font-face { font-family: “MS 明朝”;}@font-face { font-family: “MS 明朝”;}@font-face { font-family: “Cambria”;}p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: Cambria; }.MsoChpDefault { font-family: Cambria; }div.WordSection1 { page: WordSection1; } @font-face { font-family: “MS 明朝”;}@font-face { font-family: “Cambria Math”;}@font-face { font-family: “Cambria”;}p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: Cambria; }.MsoChpDefault { font-family: Cambria; }div.WordSection1 { page: WordSection1; }If you are looking for a quick and easy cookie, look no further.  Chocolate oatmeal no bake cookies are simply delicious and easy to make!  There are many variations including adding peanut butter or coconut.  I am not sure where this recipe came from (you can find it all over the internet) but I know where I first had one of these – at Sugar and Spice, a little bakery in the Indiana Memorial Union.   I also remember the first time I made these – we were moving from Indiana and I was trying use up the last bits of opened baking supplies so I sent these to my Fiancé, who moved before me to start his job.  I made two batches this time, as you can see they make a good sized cookie and are rich but they were for a fishing trip with men so I thought I should count on two for everyone.  My first batch set-up well but the second batch took longer, some all night to set-up so try to be patient with the cookies (I wasn’t 😉  The ones that had trouble setting up I moved to a wire rack after they were mostly set-up.  Make sure you use instant (minute) oats.  I did not sift my cocoa but wished I had, you don’t have to but make sure to break up the lumps of cocoa in the melting mixture. 

Chocolate Oatmeal No-Bake Cookies
Makes about 24 cookies
Ingredients
3 cups instant oats
2 cups sugar
1 stick unsalted butter (8 tablespoons or 1/2 cup)
1/2 cup cocoa powder, sifted
1/2 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
Directions
1.  Place oats in a large mixing bowl; set aside.
2.  Prepare 2 cookie sheets placing a sheet of wax paper on each.
3.  Melt sugar, butter, cocoa powder, and milk in a saucepan; stirring occasionally making sure to break up the lumps of cocoa.  Bring to a boil and let boil 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.  
4.  Remove saucepan from heat and add vanilla.
5.  Pour mixture over the oats and mix well.  Drop using a spoon or cookie scooper on wax paper.
6.  Let cookies sit until set-up, time can vary but the should not be sticky or sticky at all.  Transfer to wire rack to let the cookies finish drying.
Mangia!

Lindsay Lou
Source: Unknown
Leave a Reply

