Creamy Cole Slaw

Hope everyone had a wonderful Memorial Day Weekend!  It certainly feels like summer even though it is not officially here – Memorial Day always marks the start of summer for me.  We are enjoying the back porch and popsicles with our newest addition to the family – Leo!  He too enjoys being in the kitchen (I would like to think he likes the cooking/baking but I think it is the cool tile he likes 😉  We are adjusting to life with a dog and loving it – perhaps some recipes for dog treats are in order…

I am sure many of you have heard on the news about the flooding in the south and the awful storms in midwest – my thoughts and prayers are with all of the people who have suffered losses.  Some of these storms hit very close to home as we had friends and family who were affected but luckily safe.  In fact, one hit very close to where we used to live.  It was hard to look at pictures of places we feel so connected to damaged by these storms.  Times like these I think of how grateful I am for my family and friends.  I think of the special times we have spent together, many of them in the kitchen or over a meal.  I think of how the smell of chicken frying, the touch of an apron my Nanny made, or the first bite of a family recipe can invoke sweet memories.  So I thought sharing a family recipe would be perfect on a day like today.  My mom got this recipe from a cousin’s wife, passed it on to me and now I am passing it on to you.  I hope you like it as much as we do.  I polished the last bit of it off at lunch today 😉

For the parmesan cheese I usually used the canned stuff but Matt convinced me to try using fresh since we always have it on hand (I was reluctant) but it was delicious! 


Creamy Cole Slaw
Printer-Friendly Version

Ingredients

Salad:
1 package cole slaw mix
1/2 head cauliflower, rinsed and chopped
1/2 cup raisins
Optional
1 cups salted sunflower seeds

Dressing:
1 cup mayonnaise
1/3 cup parmesan cheese, grated
1/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon vinegar
1/2 teaspoon (about 2 cloves) minced garlic

Directions
1.  Mix salad ingredients
2.  Mix dressing ingredients
3.  Pour dressing over salad ingredients and toss to coat.
Keep refrigerated.  Best if eaten within three days

Mangia!
Lindsay Lou

Source:  Linda Guddeck via Mrs. V


Leave a Reply

