Spiced Pumpkin Syrup

This time of year I crave pumpkin lattes, but let’s be honest I don’t feel like paying over $3 for a coffee, especially as a graduate student.  Plus, I am at home working on my dissertation most days so it is not only economical but easy for me to have my coffee at home.  I have been making iced coffee to have as a mid-day treat through much of grad school now (coffee gets me through my dissertation, in fact I thought I should give a shout out to coffee in my dissertation acknowledgements ;).  Usually I just use leftover coffee that I chill but over the summer I was reading about cold-brewed coffee on a lot of blogs and tried it out, I was amazed at the difference.  Yes, I did a taste test, the cold-brewed iced coffee was less bitter.  As it got warmer this year and I started my iced coffee kick, I realized since switching back to sugar it just doesn’t dissolve well.  So I made simple syrup, which I first learned about way back when I was a kid visiting my cousin and aunt in Memphis.  My cousin had iced tea that was served with simple syrup – I was intrigued.  Simple syrup is easy to make, just a cup of water and a cup of sugar heated up until the sugar dissolves.  It is great for sweetening iced tea and iced coffee, even other drinks or cocktails (I use it in margaritas).  I even got a bit fancy this summer and added a vanilla bean to one of my simple sugar batches, it was divine.  I was impressed with my vanilla syrup, then I saw Annie had DIY Flavored Syrupson Annie’s Eats.  Once again, Annie inspired me – I was amazed at her different flavors including coconut and caramel, yum!  Instantly I knew I would have to try to make a spiced pumpkin syrup.  So a little bit of work in the kitchen this weekend and voila!  Spiced pumpkin syrup – super simple.   I took Annie’s suggestion of using the olive oil pour jars she found at Target, which are much easier to use than a jar, which I was using previously.  Thanks Annie for the inspiration to create fancy flavored syrup!
 
Spiced Pumpkin Syrup
 
Ingredients
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
¼ teaspoon ground ginger
⅛ teaspoon ground cloves
⅛ teaspoon ground allspice
¼ cup + 1 Tablespoon pumpkin puree*
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup water
 
Directions
1.  Mix all ingredients in a saucepan and heat over medium heat, stirring occasionally; until the sugar has melted.
2.  Remove from heat and let cool.  Store in the refrigerator. 
 
Add to hot coffee, tea, iced coffee, iced tea or whatever you fancy 😉
 
 
*I used canned pumpkin puree with no added sugar or spices
 
Mangia!
Lindsay Lou

Leave a Reply

